NEW South Wales gave Queensland their worst walloping in years, a 26-0 loss at the Brisbane Exhibition Grounds in front of a crowd of just over 15,000.
Blues forwards, Bob McCarthy, Ron Coote and Ron Costello appeared faster than any Queensland back, while halves, Denis Ward and Dennis Pittard were extremely sharp around the scrum base and behind the rucks.
South Sydney star, Pittard, scored two tries and Ward one.
Captained by debutant forward, John Sattler, the Blues were too powerful in the middle with Queensland lock, Col Weiss and hooker, Brian Fitzsimmons the only forwards to emerge with reputations intact.
“I shudder to think what the score could have been but for Weiss’ magnificent defence,” wrote The Courier-Mail’s Jack Reardon.
The teams were: Qld: Ray Laird; Jeff Denman, Rob Thompson, Ron Beauchamp, Brian McDonald; Graham Tucker, Col Reynolds; Col Weiss, Ian Robson, Geoff Connell (c), Dennis Manteit, Brian Fitzsimmons, Trevor Niebling. Res: Mick Retchless, Gary Pearson.
NSW: Les Johns; Bob Honan, Graeme Langlands, Fr John Cootes, Don Pascoe; Dennis Pittard, Denis Ward; Ron Coote, Bob McCarthy, Ron Costello, Adrian Haertsch, Elwyn Walters, John Sattler (c). res: Graham Lye, Dick Thornett.

Leave a comment or reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s