Former Jillaroo, Jo Barrett will deliver the 2022 Ross Livermore Memorial Lecture at QUT, Kelvin Grove on Saturday, May 21.

The Channel 9 commentator and Director of Students at Nudgee College, will become the first female to deliver the annual lecture, since the concept’s birth in 2010, when Professor Maxwell Howell AO, spoke about the origins of the code in Queensland.

The choice of Barrett mirrors the growth of the women’s game in Australia, in terms of playing numbers and public interest. It comes just over a month out from the Women’s State of Origin match in Canberra. It is also a World Cup year for our Jillaroos.

Barrett’s connections with rugby league go back to her days growing up in Warwick, where her family were stalwarts of the code. Jo’s uncle is former QRL director, John Barrett, from St George.

Jo played seven successful seasons for Queensland, and went on to manage Maroons’ sides, as well as becoming part of the coaching staff. She is passionate advocate of rugby league, and her address is certain to be entertaining and informative.

In recent years the Lecture has been held at QRL headquarters in Castlemaine Street, Milton, but the building was extensively damaged by the recent floods, and is out of commission.

The QRL now operates from the QUT Education Precinct at Kelvin Grove, where a room has been booked as the venue for the Lecture. Those wishing to attend should email the QRL on: reception@qrl.com.au or telephone 33676000 by 5 p.m., Wednesday, May 18, for catering purposes, as morning tea will be provided.

The annual lecture is named after the late Ross Livermore, who was QRL managing director from 1981 until 2011. He passed away on April 16, 2013, and the lecture, previously named after another administrative giant, Harry Sunderland, was renamed in his honour.

Queensland Origin icon, Wally Lewis delivered the 2021 Lecture, following on the heels of the likes of Wayne Bennett, Adrian McGregor, Hugh Lunn, Michael Hagan and John Lang.

The lecture is staged by the QRL History Committee, in conjunction with the QRL, with Livermore being an inaugural member of the committee. The current committee comprises: Steve Ricketts (chair), John McCoy, Paul Hayes, Greg Shannon, Greg Adermann, Steve Haddan, Peter Betros, Michael Pease and Colleen Edwards. Steve Haddan will MC this year’s Lecture.

VENUE: Block E, Lower Ground Floor, QUT Kelvin Grove.

TIME: Doors open, 10 a.m. Function concludes at Noon.

PARKING: Corner of Musk Avenue and Victoria Park Road. There is also parking on Victoria Park Road. There is also public transport, by bus, into the heart of the QUT Campus.

Jo Barrett

Ross Livermore

Wayne Bennett, hoisted high by Martin Bella (left) and Wally Lewis. Bennett and Lewis have both presented the Livermore Lecture

Leave a comment or reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s